Trapped – Photo Challenge #75 and Wordle #75

– vishstudio

– vishstudio

I am Orpheus, hear me out
What’s life when love was without?
I could entrance wild beasts with my singing
I could charm anyone with my lyre playing
I followed my wife to the underworld
A place where demons emerge from the netherworld
The failure of my proximate attempt was devastating
At the last minute I couldn’t help myself from looking
I couldn’t return her to earth
Even on sea lochs and the firths
Meanwhile, I’m trapped in this world
I might as well go back to the underworld
In this bleary world with no inherent faculties
I’m trapped, get me out of here please
How could I preserve my dignity?
How could I be free?
My world as black as charcoal
When I have no control
Consider giving me some simulacrum
I was so dumb and numb
Anything for a “feel good” would do
Would be great to be rescued

week-75

For: Photo Challenge #75 and Wordle #75

9 comments

  1. mindlovemisery · August 25, 2015

    What’s life when love was without?

    Some beautiful lines and powerful emotions in this, wonderfully done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladyleemanilasphotos · August 25, 2015

    thanks, Yves 🙂

    Like

  3. twopaisepoems · August 25, 2015

    Like your interpretation of the words.. a gentle suggestion :the last line of the poem needs some rethinking. Other than that.. great job getting into the mind of Orpheus!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. georgeplace2013 · August 25, 2015

    You mixed the two prompts well. I, too, love the line “What’s life when love was without?”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oloriel · August 26, 2015

    A wonderful and memorable start to a poem, as few have already mentioned. What I like most about your take on the prompt is that I find the poem quite singable. Ok, no big deal, but that just makes me metaphoricaly read it, see it, in many different dimensions of art and life. For me, you have created a layered, relatable tale.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

