Only Sixteen and Wordle 133

Daily Prompt – Tell us all about the person you were when you were sixteen. If you haven’t yet hit sixteen, tell us about the person you want to be at sixteen.

20150716_091301

Let me whisper to you
The creation that was me
When I was sixteen
I could be as invisible
As a ghost, embarrassed
Always at a distance
Awkward in every way

On the other hand
It was the time
Of experiments
Of finding myself
Of rhythm and fun
Emitting hope
Impulsive plans
Nothing infinite

by brenda warren

by brenda warren

For: Only Sixteen and Wordle #133

banner

2 comments

  1. kim881 · August 28, 2015

    At sixteen I was very troubled, uncontrollable, seeing a child psychologist, struggling with a personality disorder, writing lots of poetry to calm me down, and preparing to move to Germany to start a new life away from my parents and two sisters. But I also had to leave a young man I thought was the love of my life. Now approaching sixty, I have tried to remember what it was like being a teenage girl, and wrote a poem, ‘Once upon a time I was a teenage girl’, which can be found on my blog site under Poetry. When I was teaching, I found that a lot of troubled teenagers gravitated towards me and trusted me with their problems, possibly because they recognised a kindred spirit in me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

