Rocking My Daughter To Sleep – Whirligig 29

THIS WEEK’S WORDS come from “Nightingale” by Tony Morris: daughter, rocking, words, wooden, needing, beneath, halfway, slapping, glass, seams, breathing, crisp

158478682_4x3

Rocking my daughter to sleep
We were both half asleep
Halfway through the night
On this crisp autumn night
My breathing in time with hers
As the cat in her basket purred
Soft words as I sang her lullaby
“Don’t grow so fast,” I sighed
Beneath her ceiling full of stars
I know the pleasure’s all ours
We sat on the wooden chair
Together with her teddy bear
While I drank a glass of water
She heard the slapping of water
She opened her eyes and smiled
Oh she’s such a darling child

For: Whirligig 29

LOGO.SUNDAYWHIRLIGIG

3 comments

  1. Majka · October 25, 2015

    Beautiful! You are blessed ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

